Join CTTC | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
Research Net

General Information

Blood and marrow transplantation (BMT) is playing an increasing role in the management of patients with otherwise fatal diseases of the hematopoietic and immune system, and solid tumours. Currently, over 1200 transplants are performed annually by 23 Canadian programs, with the number of transplants and transplant centres growing every year. New technologies and management strategies for improving the success of BMT are emerging rapidly from academic centres and industry; their expeditious testing, timely dissemination of results and subsequent implementation are mandatory to ensure the best care and risk management for Canadians in need of a transplant.

While Canada's healthcare system offers a uniquely favourable environment for testing new therapies, relatively few large and decisive Canadian trials have been completed. Large-scale studies demand resources and patient participants very often beyond that which is available in a single Canadian centre. A network of cooperating centres would allow Canadians to conduct large and decisive studies in a timely manner. To this end, the CTTC has established the Research Net (formerly Clinical Trials Network).

About Us

The mission of the CTTC Research Net is to improve the safety, availability and efficacy of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for adults and children in Canada and to perform clinical research trials that will define optimal hematopoietic stem cell transplantation for adults and children. We strive to conduct laboratory research that will translate into more effective treatments with reduced short, and long-term side effects, and to build partnerships that will help fulfill the mission of the Cell Therapy Transplant Canada (CTTC) and improve the health of adults and children throughout the world.

Chaired by Dr. Kirk Schultz, the CTTC Research Net governs the overall activities of the committee, including reviewing and approving the research agenda, formulating and monitoring policies and procedures, guiding research activities and overseeing communications within the CTTC Research Net and with the greater scientific community and public. Research concept proposals are solicited, developed and managed by the CTTC Research Net.

Committee Members

Chair: Dr. Kirk R. Schultz

Members: Dr. Yasser Abou Mourad, Dr. Mahmoud Aljurf, Dr. David Allan, Dr. Harry Atkins, Ms. Katia Bellegarde, Dr. Mick Bhatia, Dr. Henrique Bittencourt, Dr. Mark Bosch, Dr. Christopher Bredeson, Dr. Raewyn Broady, Dr. Stephen Couban, Dr. Geoff Cuvelier, Dr. Andrew Daly, Dr. Jean-Sebastien Delisle, Dr. Uday Deotare, Dr. Michel Duval, Dr. Connie Eaves, Dr. Mahmoud Elsawy, Dr. Ronan Foley, Dr. Greg Guilcher, Dr. Ellie Haddad, Mr. David Hartell, Dr. Joanne Hickey, Dr. Natasha Kekre, Dr. Dennis Kim, Dr. Joerg Krueger, Dr. Rajat Kumar, Dr. Sylvie Lachance, Dr. Kylie Lepic, Dr. Victor Lewis, Dr. Amanda Li, Dr. Frank Michelis, Dr. David Mitchell, Mr. Tony Panzarella, Dr. Kristjan Paulson, Dr. Claude Perreault, Dr. Gizelle Popradi, Dr. Denis-Claude Roy, Dr. Jean Roy, Dr. Jacob Rozmus, Dr. David Sanford, Dr. Tal Schechter-Finkelstein,Dr. Donna Wall, Dr. Matthew  Seftel, Ravi Shah, Dr. Craig Speziali, Dr. Jan Storek
Dr. David Szwajcer, Dr. Pierre Teira, Dr. Fabien Touzot, Dr. Tony Truong, Dr. Auro Viswabandya, Dr. Irwin Walker, Ms. Lori West, Dr. Jennifer White, Mrs. Jennifer Wiernikowski, Dr. Anargyros Xenocostas, Dr. Lea Bernard, Dr. Sathish Gopalakrishnan, Dr. Sunil Desai, Dr. Santhosh Thyagu, Dr. Alina Gerrie, Dr. Mitchell Sabloff

Quick Links:


If you are interested in joining the CTTC Research Net, please fill out the CTTC Committee Application Form, available here.

Please note that to join a Committee, you must first become a CTTC Member.



Last updated:November 7, 2019


This website is sponsored by an 
unrestricted educational grant from: